creativity 4 – know yourself

DSC_0009Do not adjust your screen; there IS no color in this quilt.  When my son saw how my daughter’s quilt birthday quilt looked, he let me know that he’d like a similar one some day.  So, here is my third big quilt, and the only other color I ever used was yellow. i am a quilter

All the quilts have been unplanned and random. I used what I had and only bought fabric as needed. The quilting on all three is straight (ish) line and close. I know this kind of monotony would drive some people nuts, but I like it. DSC_0016I also like silence when I’m at a difficult point. I can watch TV or listen to music when I am quilting the straight lines, but I prefer quiet when I am piecing the front of the quilt. I tend to be supply driven; what do I have and what can I make from it? I’d rather not follow patterns; I prefer to stumble along on my own. This results in lots of failures, but it’s what works for me.

What works for you?

 

 

21 thoughts on “creativity 4 – know yourself

  1. Wonderful quilts! I am like that when I write—can’t stand noise. On the other hand, when I make photo cards I listen to the radio. Funny how we work, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thanks for the compliment on the quilts. i just love that old-fashioned scrappy look. It has taken me too long to figure out just what I like – and I think it’s because, like you, I like different things for different projects.

      Like

  2. I like your new post! Knowing yourself is a lifelong lesson for some of us! Funny thing is, for the most part, I like what I know about myself!

    Love you!

    Mom

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I make more things without patterns than I do with patterns. I enjoy the challenge. But, I do listen to music while I quilt. I also do a lot of straight (ish) quilting and many a time use beautiful ‘blue’ tape in a variety of sizes. My husband always laughs when he sees all my tape, but it works for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it is your regular blue painters tape. When I am going to machine quilt something, I decide on a straight line quilting pattern, then I lay a strip of tape down and use it to keep my lines straight. I don’t sew over it if I can help it because it will gum up a needle. But, if you sew right next to it you’d be amazed how straight your lines are and you can make them much wider than just trying to use your sewing machine foot so there are less lines to sew. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I know that story, Lori! rhymes My youngest (twins) just started college last fall & that is why I am having the time to have these awakenings of what I really like to be creative. For so many years it was not my focus.

    Like

  5. That are lovely quilts. Love the colours and how the front turned out! I like the ‘just start and see where you end up philosophy’. Whenever I see a pattern I like I use it as an inspiration and not as directions set in stone. Also for colouring I use what I of my mother has (who has LOTS). It is handwork, so I like it when it looks made by hand as well. I have a site with some of my quilts I can sent you if you want to see what I come up with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

